June 2019 Race Report

JCP Swansea Half Marathon

The 6thSwansea Half Marathon took place on 23 June 2019. This scenic, flat and face route had the added challenge of very warm weather conditions for runners, with an estimated 10,000 runners were expected to take part in the main 13.1 mile race, starting from the iconic Brangwyn Hall.  Sarn Helen results were as follows: Irfon Thomas 01:31:11, Steffan Thomas 01:39:55, Delyth Crimes 01:46:58, Matthew Walker 01:49:48, Enfys Needham-Jones 01:56:05, Nicola Williams 01:59:54, Elisha Leigh Jones 02:06:17, Sian Bela Jenkins, 02:13:11.


Welcoming in the summer solstice over a very distant horizon, Pamela Carter took part in the Suzuki Midnight Sun Run half marathon in Laugardalur valley, Reykjavik on 20thJune 2019, completing with a great time of 02:05:23. After the race participants are invited to the geothermal outdoor swimming pool, Laugardalslaug.  Pamela has also recently completed an 88-mile bike ride around Ceredigion with Diabetes nurses to raise money for Diabetes Awareness.

Felinfach Club Races

The Felinfach Club races took place this year on Friday 28thJune 2019 - a very warm and sunny evening. Results and updates are on the Club website, with overall winners and Sarn Helen results as follows:

Juniors 800m: First overall was Gethin Jones-Thomas, followed by Llewelyn Gregson, both Dyffryn Cledlyn School, with Eva Davies (Sarn Helen) coming third overall.  Sarn Helen juniors also achieved the following times: Gruffudd Roderick, 4.02; Ben Hall, 4.06; Mari Rees, 4.19; Lily Edgell, 4.23; Abbie Green, 4.24; Hari Thomas, 4.39.

Juniors 1500m: First overall was Jayce Jones, followed by Jack Rogers and Cerith Parry, all Felinfach School.  Sarn Helen juniors times were as follows: Lloyd Thomas, 7.17; Non Crimes, 7.19; Christopher Readwin, 7.26;Pippa Barnicoat, 7.32; Steffan Rivers, 8.01; Jacob Burton, 8.02; Nia Williams, 8.24; Alis Evans, 9.07; Elin Evans, 9.08; Alex Brown, 10.31

Juniors 3000m: First overall was Rhys Williams, followed by Jack Caulkett (both Sarn Helen) and Scott Price (Carmarthen).  In addition, Sarn Helen results were: Johnathon Price, 11.58; Violet Caulkett, 14.04; Rhodri Gregson, 15.01;Iestyn Stephens, 15.09; Maddie Caulkett,15.20; Gwenllian Llwyd Jones, 16.40.

In the seniors 6 mile race, along the floor of the Aeron Valley, Sion Price of Sarn Helen was first, with a time of 33:19, closely followed by Eirwyn Roberts (Sarn Helen): 36:21 and Llyr Ab Einon (Aberystwyth AC): 36:35.  , with times for Sarn Helen runners as follows: Glyn Price (first M50) 37.19;Dan Hooper, 37.58; Carwyn Davies, 38.12; Irfon Thomas, 38.50;Mark Rivers, 38.59; Nigel Davies, 39.45; Caryl Davies (first female) 40.28; Mike Davies, 40.47;Steffan Thomas, 41.39; Richard Marks, 42.25; Tim Rayner, 44.41; Mick Taylor, 45.00; Dee Jolly, 45.16; Eleri Rivers (first F45) 45.18; Owen Mc Conochie, 46.26;Murray Kisbee, 47.07; Eric Rees, 47.30; Delyth Crimes, 47.38;Sian Roberts Jones, 49.02; Marc Davies,49.18; Nicola Williams, 50.02; Rhys Burton, 51.35;Amy Edgell, 51.56; Joanna Rosiak, 52.05; Pamela Carter, 52.13;Carol Rees, 52.33; Liz Pugh, 53.28; Nia Venville, 55.23;Sian Jenkins, 56.00; Joanne Heath, 56.04; Nicola Davies, 56.44;Elisha Leigh Jones, 61.00; Jane Holmes,64.20; Rebecca Doswell, 65.44; Emma Gray, 72.42.

Sospan 10k

The Sospan 10k race, the last in this format, took place in Llanelli along the Millennium Coastal Oath on the morning of Saturday 29thJune 2019.  Conditions were warm, with little air movement, making it a challenging, but well supported event.  Two Sarn Helen runners took part, achieving the following times: Caryl Wyn Davies: 00:46:12; Rebecca Doswell: 01:05:05.