Race Report: November 2019

Race Report: November 2019

At the Bexhill Poppy Runs on Saturday 9 November 2019, over 300 runners took part in the 10k event, with Sarn Helen Running Club’s Graham Penn (M65) donning conventional kit, having run the Half Marathon in full World War One uniform for the past five years! The weather was superb, with Graham achieving a time of 59:46.

 On a bright, sunny Sunday 10th November, after the crowds and horses from the Remembrance Sunday service and parade had melted away, Cardigan Running Club held its Silver Anniversary races, 10k and 25k. With a chill in the air, runners headed out uphill to the A487, along for a short distance and then turned off to smaller and quieter roads. Supporters and cheerful marshals were out in force, directing runners and providing encouragement. The 10k course was followed by three runners from Sarn Helen Running club, with an undulating route and some steep climbs for the first half, and sweeping bends and downhills for the second half, providing views down to the estuary towards Poppit Sands, before finishing back by the start line at the school field where commemorative slater coasters and cake greeted finishers. Glyn Price powered home to first overall, with a time of 38:57, Steffan Thomas, third overall, arrived in a time of 40:50 and Rebecca Doswell finished with a time of 1:12:09.

On Saturday 16th November 2019, 33 runners took to the Beacons Way for the Llyn y Fan Fell Race, an 8.8 km route with 610m (2000ft) elevation. Runners ascended the slopes of Bannau Sir Gaer, before continuing across the top of the escarpment over Picws Du, and up to Fan Foel. Sarn Helen Running Club was represented by Nigel Davies (MO40), who achieved a time of 1:11:46, with Glyn Price (MO50) recording a time of 1:15:58.

Over the border, as part of the Welsh ladies team at the British and Irish Masters International Cross Country, held at Aintree Racecourse on 16th November, Dawn Kenwright recorded a time of 00:29:36 in a 6k run in the W35-W60 category.

Sospan Road Runners Pembrey MT10 took place on 17 November 2019, on an undulating multi-terrain course in Pembrey Country Park and forest, including trail and beach. Sarn Helen’s Kenneth Caulkett achieved 6th overall, and 3rd in his category with a time of 01:03:54. Carwyn Davies recorded a time of 01:10:36, 10th in category, with Jenny Caulkett achieving a time of 01:44:39.

In the final club race of 2019, on Sunday 24th November 2019, Ras y Mast took place on a rather damp and foggy day on the hills above Lampeter, starting out from Blaenwern Holiday Centre. In the seniors race, first overall was Sion Price with a time of 43.39, first female was Dee Jolly recording a time of 52.44. Third overall was Flipe Jones (M40) 45.20; sixth , Glyn Price (M50) 47.23; eighth, Dafydd Lloyd (M) 48.42; ninth, George Eadon (M) 49.19; tenth, Mark Rivers (M40) 49.30. In close pursuit, Steffan Thomas, 49.52; Simon Hall, 50.55; Irfon Thomas, 52.40; Nigel Davies, 53.06; Carwyn Davies, 53.53; Tim Rayner, 54.18; Steven Holmes, 55.40; Mike Davies, 55.57; Eilir Evans, 57.31; Mitchell Readwin, 61.41; Huw Price, 61.50; Mick Taylor, 62.30; Murray Kisbee, 64.23; Sian Roberts Jones, 64.28; Tony Hall, 65.38; Delyth Crimes, 65.32; Heather Hughes, 65.15; Joanna Rosiak, 70.19; Richard Marks, 70.32; Pamela Carter, 70.52; Enfys Needham Jones, 71.29; Nicola Williams, 72.47; Amy Edgell, 76.28; Andrew Edgell, 76.28; Nicola Davies, 78.10; Elisha Jones, 78.41; Joanne Heath, 87.30; Jane Holmes, 87.30 and Rachel Stoddart, 87.30.

In the juniors under-16s race, Sarn Helen results were as follows: Jonathon Price was first overall with a time of 10:07, followed by Rhys Williams, second overall, 10:26; Daniel Morgans, 10:30; Jack Caulkett, 10.39; Rhodri Gregson, 11.38; Jasmine Jones, 12.02; Violet Caulkett, 12.37; Lucy Davis, 13.17; Jac Rees, 13.53; Llyr Rees, 14.14; Harri Rivers, 14.30 and Maddie Caulkett, 15.45.

In the juniors under-12s race, Sarn Helen junior members achieved the following times:
Eva Davies, second overall, 5.33; Tudur Llwyd, third overall, 5.37; Christopher Readwin, 6.10; Tomos Green, 6.18; Maddy Eadon, 6.21; Sophie Cotton, 6.25; Ben Hall, 6.31; Gruffudd Roderick, 6.34; Abbie Green, 6.35; Lily Edgell, 7.01; Francessca Cooper, 7.21; Alex Brown, 7.46 and Poppy Caulkett, 8.39.

Finally, congratulations to Glyn Price, who was awarded third place in the M50 category by the Welsh Athletics Association following the Welsh Masters Marathon Championships, hosted by the Snowdonia Marathon in October.